Tyson Fury vs Lennox Lewis to determine best British boxer of last 20 years

After three rounds of voting, just two names remain in our search to find the best boxer from Britain and Ireland since 2000.

The list of world-class boxers to emerge from Britain and Ireland in the past two decades is a lengthy one, but if you had to crown just one as the best, who would you pick?

Lennox Lewis and Tyson Fury won their semi-final matchups against Joe Calzaghe and Prince Naseem respectively, meaning the two heavyweights will go head-to-head in the final.

The quarter-finals saw the likes of former champions David Haye, Ricky Hatton and Billy Joe Saunders all eliminated from the competition.

And here were the results of the semi-finals:

Lennox Lewis 54.4% vs Joe Calzaghe 45.6%

Prince Naseem 20.6% vs Tyson Fury 79.4%

You are not voting for who would win a mythical match-up, but instead who has had the better career.

Over 45,000 of you have voted since the first round and you can now have your say to crown the king…

Tyson Fury

Since turning professional in 2008, Fury has gone unbeaten in 33 professional fights. He picked up eight wins in 2009, winning the English heavyweight title twice in that time.

He excelled in the first real test of his career at the age of 23, outpointing perennial contender Derek Chisora to win the British and Commonwealth titles.

After going 20-0 he made his US debut, being dropped for the first time in his career by Steve Cunningham but rallying to win by knockout.

Stoppage wins against Chisora and Christian Hammer set up a title fight with Wladimir Klitschko, with Fury going on to provide one of the biggest upsets in heavyweight history to win the unified titles.

He battled through mental health issues and put on over 10 stone during his three years away from the ring.

Since returning to the sport, Fury has been through an epic three-fight trilogy with Deontay Wilder, ending his rivalry with the American last month.

'The Gypsy King' currently holds the WBC heavyweight title and will likely make the second defence of his title against interim titleholder Dillian Whyte.

Lennox Lewis

One of the most decorated heavyweights of his generation, Lewis is a three-time champion and remains the last heavyweight to hold the undisputed titles.

He turned professional in 1989 and won his first six fights all by stoppage. The following year Lewis fought eight times, winning his first title at the age of 25.

Lewis' success would continue into 1991, handing Gary Mason the only loss of his career to win the British title.

Shuffling between the UK and the US for his next ten fights, Lewis was promoted to WBC champion in 1992 after Riddick Bowe vacated the title.

He defended his belt three times before losing it to Oliver McCall but would become a two-time champion by avenging his loss three years later.

Lewis went on to beat the likes of Shannon Briggs, Evander Holyfield and David Tua before suffering a shock loss to Hasim Rahman in 2001.

'The Lion' won back his titles later that year against Rahman and retired after stopping Mike Tyson and Vitali Klitschko in the final two fights of his legendary career.

Source: Read Full Article