Ian Desmond named Rockies’ nominee for Roberto Clemente Award for 5th straight year – The Denver Post

Ian Desmond has been named the Rockies’ nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award for the fifth straight year, Major League Baseball announced Tuesday.

The annual award, which started in 1971 as the “Commissioner’s Award” and was renamed after Clemente’s death in 1972, is given to the player who best represents baseball “through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions, both on and off the field.” The award winner will be announced at a date to be determined.

Desmond, who opted out of each of the last two seasons due to the COVID-19 pandemic, spent this year focusing on Newtown Connection, a youth program he co-founded that runs through the Boys & Girls Clubs of Sarasota and Desoto Counties in Florida.

“Ian’s devotion to his family and his community truly embodies the principles of Roberto Clemente,” Rockies vice president of community and retail operations Jim Kellogg said in a news release. “Ian has chosen to sit out of the past two seasons to focus on the youth of Sarasota. Ian’s actions speak louder words, and his actions are bringing about real change in his community every single day.”

The winner will be determined through a panel. Fans can also vote for the award through Oct. 3 at mlb.com/clemente21. The winner of the fan vote will receive one vote to be included in the panel.

No Rockies player has ever won the award. Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright was the 2020 recipient.

Here is the list of 2021 Robert Clemente Award nominees:

  • Arizona: David Peralta
  • Atlanta: Will Smith
  • Baltimore: Trey Mancini
  • Boston: Nathan Eovaldi
  • Chicago Cubs: Jason Heyward
  • Chicago White Sox: Liam Hendricks
  • Cincinnati: Joey Votto
  • Cleveland: Aaron Civale
  • Colorado: Ian Desmond
  • Detroit: Miguel Cabrera
  • Houston: Alex Bregman
  • Kansas City: Salvador Perez
  • Los Angeles Angels: Mike Trout
  • Los Angeles Dodgers: Justin Turner
  • Miami Marlins: Miguel Rojas
  • Milwaukee: Brent Suter
  • Minnesota: Nelson Cruz
  • New York Mets: Pete Alonso
  • New York Yankees: Kyle Higashioka
  • Oakland: Tony Kemp
  • Philadelphia: Alec Bohm
  • Pittsburgh: Jacob Stallings
  • San Diego: Joe Musgrove
  • San Francisco: Brandon Crawford
  • Seattle: Kyle Seager
  • St. Louis: Paul Goldschmidt
  • Tampa Bay: Ryan Yarbrough
  • Texas: Jose Trevino
  • Toronto: Bo Bichette
  • Washington: Max Scherzer

Source: Read Full Article