Heisman Trophy finalists: Updated odds, top candidates to win 2020 award

Just making it through the 2020 season was an impressive feat for college football players dealing with COVID-19 outbreaks in their programs and schedule chaos.

Among those who were fortunate enough to play a large sample of games, several stood out above the rest for their on-field performances. When the Heisman Trophy finalists are announced Thursday night at 7 p.m. ET, four of them will be recognized for their efforts.

The Heisman winner will be declared on Jan. 5 in a virtual ceremony. Votes have already been submitted, so bowl performance will not sway the decision.

Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith is the favorite for the award, having amassed 1,511 receiving yards and 17 touchdowns this year.

Here is a look at the odds, finalists and historic winners for the Heisman Trophy:

Current Heisman award odds 2020

Over the past week, DeVonta Smith and Trevor Lawrence have had their Heisman odds rise, while Kyle Trask and Najee Harris have faded. Mac Jones is about the same as where he was before the SEC title game.

Below are the updated 2020 Heisman award odds.

Who are the Heisman finalists?

The Heisman finalists will be announced Thursday night. Alabama offensive trio Mac Jones, DeVonta Smith and Najee Harris are expected to be contenders for the shortlist. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask are also strong candidates.

Alabama defeated Florida this past weekend in the SEC championship game. Clemson toppled Notre Dame in the ACC championship game. The Tide and Tigers will be part of the upcoming College Football Playoff.

When is the Heisman Trophy given out?

The 2020 Heisman Trophy will be given out on Jan. 5 at 7 p.m. ET. The award is voted on by college football media members around the country. It is the most prestigious individual honor in college football, and probably the most coveted across all amateur sports.

Historic Heisman Trophy winners

The Heisman Trophy has been spread around the country over the past decade, with members of five different conferences claiming the honor. The center of the college football media world might at times seem to be the SEC, but three of the past four press-voted winners have hailed from outside that conference.

This year, fans could see the first wide receiver chosen since 1991.

Here are the past 10 Heisman Trophy winners:

Source: Read Full Article