Anger and ecstasy as Vettel ends long wait

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel took advantage of an early pit stop to win the Singapore Grand Prix on Sunday and end a 13-month winless streak in Formula One.

Vettel, who started third on the grid, crossed the finish line at the 5km Marina Bay street circuit 2.641 seconds ahead of teammate Charles Leclerc.

Stream over 50 sports live & anytime on your TV or favourite device with KAYO SPORTS. The biggest Aussie sports and the best from overseas. Just $25/month. No lock-in contract. Get your 14 day free trial >

Sebastian Vettel leads from Charles Leclerc at Marina Bay street circuit.Source:Getty Images

It was the four-time F1 champion’s first win since the 2018 Belgian Grand Prix.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen was third, while championship leader Lewis Hamilton was fourth.

Leclerc started from pole and held the lead until he pitted on the 21st lap.

When Leclerc rejoined, he was behind Vettel, who had pitted a lap earlier.

Leclerc made it clear over the team radio that he was not happy that Vettel pitted first and got the lead.

It was Vettel’s fifth victory under the lights in Singapore.

With six races remaining, Hamilton holds a 64-point lead over Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas, who finished fifth.

The next race is in Russia.

Ferrari’s German driver Sebastian Vettel keeps ahead of Red Bull’s Dutch driver Max Verstappen in Singapore.Source:AFP


(61 laps)

1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/FER) 1hr 58min 33.667sec

2. Charles Leclerc (MON/FER) +2.641

3. Max Verstappen (NED/RBR) 3.821

4. Lewis Hamilton (ENG/MER) 4.608

5. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/MER) 6.119

6. Alexander Albon (THA/RBR) 11.663

7. Lando Norris (GBR/MCL) 14.769

8. Pierre Gasly (FRA/STR) 15.547

9. Nico Hulkenberg (GER/REN) 16.718

10. Antonio Giovinazzi (ITA/ALF) 17.855

11. Romain Grosjean (FRA/HAA) 35.436

12. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/MCL) 35.974

13. Lance Stroll (CAN/RAC) 36.419

14. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/REN) 37.660

15. Daniil Kvyat (RUS/STR) 38.178

16. Robert Kubica (POL/WIL) 47.024

17. Kevin Magnussen (DEN/HAA) 1min 26.522

Not classified: Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/ALF) 12 laps Sergio Perez (MEX/RAC) 19 laps George Russell (GBR/WIL) 27 laps


1. Lewis Hamilton (ENG) 296

2. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 231

3. Charles Leclerc (MON) 200

4. Max Verstappen (NED) 200

5. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 194

6. Pierre Gasly (FRA) 69

7. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) 58

8. Alexander Albon (THA) 42

9. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) 34

10. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) 33

Originally published asAnger and ecstasy as Vettel ends long wait

Source: Read Full Article