Rolex 24 at Daytona: Fernando Alonso’s team wins after race ends early due to rain

Fernando Alonso earned his first Rolex 24 crown Sunday after leading his No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi team to victory at Daytona International Speedway.

Alonso, a two-time Formula 1 champion, was joined by teammates Jordan Taylor, Renger van der Zande and Kamui Kobayashi and they took a clear lead right before the 22-hour mark, pulling away from No. 31 Action Express Racing’s Felix Nasr after he ran wide at Turn 1. 

“Just an amazing experience — perfect execution for the race,” Alonso said, per BBC. “We were competitive in everything — dry, wet, night, day.”

The #Rolex24 is official.

Congratulations to our class winners at @DISUpdates, and congrats to @alo_oficial, a winner at Le Mans and now Daytona!

Alonso, who made his debut in the Daytona race last year and finished 38th, became just the third F1 champion to win the Rolex 24 at Daytona after Phil Hill and Mario Andretti, BBC notes.

We won the @Rolex24Hours !!!! @BMWMotorsport @BMWUSARacing #BMWTeamRLL

The 24-hour race ended a few minutes early due to poor weather conditions and was red flagged twice because of rain. The majority of the final eight hours was run under a yellow flag. The results were determined after 23 hours and 10 minutes.

Nasr and his team finished second, while Alexander Rossi’s team in the No. 7 Acura DPi finished third.

Source: Read Full Article