Foursome: Bontempelli wins another Dogs best and fairest

Marcus Bontempelli added yet another accolade to his expanding list of honours with the Western Bulldogs captain claiming his fourth Charles Sutton Medal on Wednesday night.

Having already won the Dogs’ best and fairest award in 2016, 2017 and 2019, Bontempelli was a clear winner in the count, polling 353 votes to finish 57 clear of fellow midfielder Jack Macrae. It was Bontempelli’s seventh consecutive top-three finish in the count.

Marcus Bontempelli shone for the Bulldogs in the grand final.Credit:AFL Photos

Bontempelli had earlier this month been voted the AFL Players’ Association’s most valuable player and finished second behind Port Adelaide’s Ollie Wines in a hotly-contested Brownlow Medal.

The Dogs skipper – who played all 26 of his team’s matches this season – was among his side’s best players in the grand final loss to Melbourne on Saturday night, finishing with 25 disposals and three goals.

Still only 25, Bontempelli is well on the way to matching, or even bettering, club great Scott West’s Bulldogs record of seven best and fairest crowns, won between 1995 and 2005.

Bontempelli is now just one best and fairest award shy of Ted Whitten’s tally of five.

The No.4 draft pick in 2013, Bontempelli also received the John Van Groningen Domestique Award and Bruce Wilkinson AFL Trainers’ Award on Wednesday night.

The career-best season of Bailey Dale – reinvented this year as a defender – led to him finishing fourth behind Bontempelli, Macrae and Liberatore. Dale also received the Tony Liberatore Most Improved Player Award following a season for which he was named an All-Australian. Fellow defender Bailey Williams also made the top 10 having been on the outer only a couple of years ago.

Top 10

1st place (Charles Sutton Medal) MARCUS BONTEMPELLI 353

2nd place (Doug Hawkins Medal) JACKSON MACRAE 296

3rd place (Gary Dempsey Medal) TOM LIBERATORE 291

4th place BAILEY DALE 251

5th place CALEB DANIEL 250

6th place ALEX KEATH 241

7th place BAILEY SMITH 216

8th place AARON NAUGHTON 211

9th place TAYLOR DURYEA 198

10th place BAILEY WILLIAMS 171

Other awards:

  • Chris Grant Best First Year Player: Anthony Scott
  • Locker Group Coaches’ Award: Taylor Duryea
  • Tony Liberatore Most Improved Player Award: Bailey Dale
  • Brad Johnson Best Team Player Award: Alex Keath
  • Scott West Most Courageous Award: Aaron Naughton
  • Best Player in Finals: Jack Macrae
  • John Van Groningen Domestique Award: Marcus Bontempelli
  • Bruce Wilkinson Winner (AFL Trainers’ Award) – Marcus Bontempelli
  • Ben Bradley Winner (VFL Trainers’ Award) – Robbie McComb
  • VFL Best and Fairest: Robbie McComb
  • John Schultz Community Award: Lin Jong

AFL trades 2021: Stay across the moves, news and what it all means as our Real Footy newsletter goes daily for trade period. Sign up to get it here.

Most Viewed in Sport

From our partners

Source: Read Full Article