‘Outrageous’ call proves NRL has lost the plot

The NRL’s crackdown on high contact has divided punters this season but most can agree on one thing — match officials have struggled to implement the league’s new penalties consistently.

Commentators were left scratching their heads after a particularly contentious call in the Sharks’ clash with the Raiders on Saturday.

When Raiders forward Corey Harawira-Naera managed a one-handed offload just centimetres from the Sharks’ line, it didn’t take long for his teammates to get the ball to prolific tryscorer Jordan Rapana, who crashed over for the game’s first four-pointer.

The try was awarded on-field, before the Bunker intervened and deemed an errant hand from Brayden Trindall constituted a high tackle.

“In the process of scoring the try, Brayden Trindall has hit Jordan Rapana high,” said Bunker official Henry Perenara.

If foul play is deemed to have occurred as a try is scored, referees can choose to award the scoring team an extra shot at goal, giving the side an “eight-point try”.

That’s exactly what happened on Saturday night, but not everyone was convinced the incident merited the extra two points.

“I don’t know what Brayden Trindall was supposed to do,” Fox League’s Steve Roach said.

“Rapana’s diving across the line and he’s trying to make the tackle. I know he hit him high but what else could he do? He can’t disappear.”

Raiders will get their try and have the chance to get another two points!

Agree with the decision? 👇#NRLRaidersSharks
📝 BLOG https://t.co/OAsFcRgVLV
📲 MATCH CENTRE https://t.co/XWoPQuglVQ
📺 WATCH via @kayosportshttps://t.co/xfofBGJvaepic.twitter.com/8P6zlcCWs5

Andrew Voss added: “It’s accidental. He (Rapana) doesn’t even notice. They said you got him high — where? Rapana doesn’t flinch. Are we sure we’ve got a high tackle there? Are we sure that is a high tackle and on report?

“One of your favourite sayings Blocker, ‘Would it have knocked a maggot off a chop?’”

Gorden Tallis couldn’t believe what he was seeing.

“He can’t disappear and in slow motion it looks a little bad but please, it’s a contact sport,” he said.

Voss added: “That’s outrageous that, Jordan Rapana has not even noticed that he was hit high. He just got straight up with a clenched fist. He was hit with a wet one.”

The Sharks hit back shortly after the eight-point try. (Photo by Regi Varghese/Getty Images)Source:Getty Images

Perhaps spurred on by the contentious call, the Sharks scored two first-half tries of their own, with Sione Katoa and Jesse Ramien getting their names on the score sheet.

Canberra’s penalty goal in the shadow of halftime locked the two sides up at 12 apiece heading into the sheds.

Source: Read Full Article