FA Cup second round draw details – date, time, ball numbers and TV channel

The FA Cup second round draw is one of the most anticipated events of the English football season even if the Premier League teams have to wait a little longer for their introduction, as surprise packages from down the EFL pyramid and even further below await their fate. While 80 teams will go into the draw, only 40 will remain after Monday evening as the most prestigious domestic cup competition in the world whittles down once again.

One of the ties of the first round will see Charlton Athletic host Cray Valley Paper Mills FC, a team from the Isthmian League South East division, at The Valley. The eighth-tier part-timers are into the competition proper for only the second time in their history after qualifying wins over Lordswood, Uxbridge, Northwood and Carshalton Athletic before thrashing Enfield Town 5-2.

Fixtures for the first round proper will be held between Friday November 3 and Monday November 6, 2023, with clubs at this stage pocketing £40,000 from the competition’s prize fund. But progess to the second round is much more lucrative as the competition narrows down, with an extra £67,000 up for grabs for the victors.

All 44 clubs from the Championship and Premier League have the benefit of entering at third round stage in January, but there is still plenty to play for before then. Ahead of the second round draw, Express Sport have all the details you need to be prepared.

READ MORE FA Cup rule change will delight Liverpool boss Klopp but anger football fans[INSIGHT]

Time, date and TV channel

The draw for the second round proper of the 2023-24 FA Cup will take place on Sunday, 5 November, with the entire draw broadcast live on ITV1.

Rather unusually, the draw has been scheduled to take place in between two ties, with Chesterfield taking on Portsmouth on ITV1 in their first-round tie at 12.15pm and Crewe Alexandra facing Derby County at 2.45pm. That game will be live on ITVX.

And with a short window of around 40 minutes, all 20 ties will be drawn out of the proverbial hat before the first round matches are completed.

  • Advert-free experience without interruptions.
  • Rocket-fast speedy loading pages.
  • Exclusive & Unlimited access to all our content.

Rob McElhenney confirms Wrexham break National League rule weeks after promotion[NEWS]
Football fans vote for the best sounds in football – like cheering crowds[FANS]
Carabao Cup draw as Liverpool, Chelsea and Newcastle learn fate with Man Utd out[DRAW]

Ball numbers

The winner of each of the ties below will use their assigned ball numbers in the second round draw, which are as follows:

1. Curzon Ashton or Barnet

2. Alfreton Town or Worthing

3. Chesterfield or Portsmouth

4. Bolton Wanderers or Solihull Moors

5. Exeter City or Wigan Athletic

6. Leyton Orient or Carlisle United

7. Kidderminster Harriers or Fleetwood Town

8. Hereford or Gillingham

9. Slough Town or Grimsby Town

10. Charlton Athletic or Cray Valley Paper Mills

11. Oxford United or Maidenhead United

12. Newport County or Oldham Athletic

13. Swindon Town or Aldershot Town

14. Crewe Alexandra or Derby County

15. Mansfield Town or Wrexham

16. Marine or Harrogate Town

17. Barnsley or Horsham

18. Port Vale or Burton Albion

19. Peterborough United or Salford City

20. Eastleigh or Boreham Wood

21. Bradford City or Wycombe Wanderers

22. Sheppey United or Walsall

23. Shrewsbury Town or Colchester United

24. Bristol Rovers or Whitby Town

25. Lincoln City or Morecambe

26. Sutton United or AFC Fylde

27. Reading or Milton Keynes Dons

28. Doncaster Rovers or Accrington Stanley

29. Chester or York City

30. Scarborough Athletic or Forest Green Rovers

31. Notts County or Crawley Town

32. Stockport County or Worksop Town

33. Yeovil Town or Gateshead

34. Stevenage or Tranmere Rovers

35. Chesham United or Maidstone United

36. Bromley or Blackpool

37. AFC Wimbledon or Cheltenham Town

38. Cambridge United or Bracknell Town

39. Northampton Town or Barrow

40. Ramsgate or Woking

Source: Read Full Article