Man Utd confirm full 31-man squad for Thailand tour as Cristiano Ronaldo decision made

Man Utd's pre-season schedule as Red Devils head for Australia

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Manchester United have confirmed that Cristiano Ronaldo will not join the squad for their tour of Thaliand this month. The 37-year-old has asked the club to leave should a suitable offer come in for his services and he has missed training since, citing family reasons. 

Ronaldo looks set to be on his way out of the north-west after reports over the weekend said he had asked to leave the club. The legendary striker was said to be unhappy with the transfer business undertaking by the club up to that point while he was also unwilling to play Europa League football. 

The Portugal captain only rejoined United 11 months ago in a sensational transfer from Juventus. He scored 24 goals in all competitions for the Red Devils but some pundits have argued that he made the team worse by causing the side to become imbalanced.

Other notable absentees include Brandon Williams and Phil Jones. The English defenders have found themselves out of favour in recent years and are said to be looking for moves away from the club. 

In other interesting news for the Old Trafford faithful, it appears that Bruno Fernandes has been given a new number. The 27-year-old has finally been able to inherit his favourite No 8 after it was vacated by Juan Mata’s departure at the end of last season. 

The Red Devils will travel to the Thailand capital of Bangkok to play a glamour friendly against fierce rivals Liverpool. The squad will then continue to Australia, playing in Melbourne and then Perth. United will take on Melbourne Victory and Premier League opponents Aston Villa and Crystal Palace down under as part of their tour. 

The matches will see new boss Erik ten Hag take charge of the team for the first time as he looks to improve on the club’s disappointing sixth-place finish last season. 

The full 31-man squad can be found here: 

1 De Gea
2 Lindelof
3 Bailly
5 Maguire
8 Bruno
9 Martial
10 Rashford
12 Malacia
16 Amad
17 Fred
19 Varane
20 Dalot
22 Heaton
23 Shaw
25 Sancho
27 Telles
28 Pellistri
29 AWB
30 Bishop
34 VDB
36 Elanga
37 Garner
38 Tuanzebe
39 McTominay
40 Kovar
41 Laird
44 Chong
46 Hannibal
49 Garnacho
51 Savage
55 Iqbal

Source: Read Full Article