MARK CLATTENBURG: Ref was right on James handball and Rudiger block

MARK CLATTENBURG: Referee Antonio Lahoz was excellent in the Champions League final… he was right to refuse Manchester City a penalty after claims of a Reece James handball

  • City’s players were adamant James had handled the ball in the penalty area
  • The ball had struck the defender’s arm after he had played it with his chest
  • Rudiger’s block that ended De Bruyne’s game was not a red card offence

Manchester City’s players were adamant Reece James had handled the ball in the penalty area as they chased an equaliser in the second half.

They were right, the ball had struck the defender’s arm, but only after he had played it with his chest.

It was not a penalty because James’ arm was in a natural position by his body and he had deflected the ball onto himself.

Referee Antonio Lahoz was right not to award a penalty against Reece James (L) on Saturday

Manchester City players appeal for a penalty after the ball hit the arm of the Chelsea defender

The referee, Antonio Lahoz, made it clear to everyone what had happened and he was right to wave away City’s appeals.

This was different to the penalty Moussa Sissoko conceded for Spurs against Liverpool in the Champions League final two years ago. 

Sissoko’s arm was away from his body and was making his frame bigger, and the law states this is punishable as a handball.

Meanwhile, Lahoz was right to book Antonio Rudiger for the block that ended Kevin de Bruyne’s game. It was not a red card offence.

The referee had an excellent game.

Kevin de Bruyne was blocked by Chelsea defender Antonio Rudiger in the second half

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article