MARK CLATTENBURG: Why Cash handball should have been a Saints penalty

MARK CLATTENBURG: Why Southampton SHOULD have been awarded penalty against Aston Villa for Matty Cash handball

  • VAR chose not to penalise Matty Cash for an alleged handball at Southampton 
  • The Villa defender was saved as the ball deflected off his thigh before his arm 
  • But Sportsmail’s Mark Clattenburg says the spot kick should have still been given
  • The referee also made his judgement on Danny Ings’ late disallowed goal

Southampton should have been given a penalty against Aston Villa. 

Matty Cash was saved because the ball deflected off his thigh on to his left arm, and law states it is not a handball offence if a player ‘deliberately plays the ball which then touches their hand or arm’. 

But this was not a ‘deliberate’ play for the ball. Stuart Armstrong’s shot hit Cash, who made himself unnaturally bigger and blocked the shot with his arm. I’d have taken that into consideration and awarded the penalty.

Villa’s Matty Cash appeared to handle inside his own box during the first-half at St Mary’s

As for the Danny Ings offside, those calls are going to go your way one week, against you the next.

VAR can only draw the lines using the best technology available, which is 50 frames per second in the Premier League. 

The line is drawn to Ings’ shirt sleeve, as per the law, and that was further forward than Cash’s backside.

Clattenburg claims Danny Ings’ late disallowed goal for Southampton was inconclusive

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article