Premier League stars Mohamed Salah and Edouard Mendy SNUBBED by FIFA

FIFA reveal ‘The Best’ XI in strange formation featuring FOUR attackers, as Premier League stars Edouard Mendy and Mohamed Salah are snubbed despite other award nominations

  • FIFA revealed ‘The Best’ XI for 2022 at the award ceremony on Monday night
  • Team presented in strange formation featuring four attacking players 
  • No place for Mohamed Salah after being top three for Men’s Player of the Year 
  • Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy also excluded despite Goalkeeper of the Year award  

FIFA have revealed ‘The Best’ XI for 2022 at their recent award ceremony, with the team boasting a strange four attacker formation.

There were four Premier League stars included with Jorginho and N’Golo Kante featuring, along with Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Manchester City pair Kevin de Bruyne and Ruben Dias. 

 However, the final line-up has drawn controversy over it’s strange formation and decision to omit Premier League stars Edouard Mendy and Mohamed Salah.

FIFA revealed ‘The Best’ XI of 2022 at the recent award ceremony held on Monday night

Despite coming top three in Men’s Player of the Year, Mohamed Salah missed out on the XI

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Erling Haaland were all included in FIFA’s strange team which boasted a 3-3-4 formation.  

However there was no space for Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy or Liverpool’s Mohammed Salah, despite both players being nominated for other awards.

In Mendy’s case, the Senegalese shot-stopper actually won the FIFA Goalkeeper of the Year award but was still omitted in ‘The Best’ XI. PSG’s Gianluigi Donarumma instead took the goalkeeper position. 

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy missed out on the XI despite winning Goalkeeper of the Year award

Salah was nominated for the Men’s Player of the Year award but was pipped to it by Bayern’s Robert Lewandowski, who collected the accolade for the second year running.

The Egyptian still came in the top three for the award however, which makes his omission from a starting XI including four attackers, even stranger. 

The rest of the team was completed by David Alaba, Leonardo Bonucci and the aforementioned Lewandowski.

The Bayern Munich star retained his Men’s Player of the Year award following a prolific 2021 in attack for the Bundesliga giants. 

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article