Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandowski nominated for Ballon d'Or

Ballon d’Or nominee list is ‘LEAKED’: Chelsea and Man City stars make up a THIRD of the 30, United have two men included while it’s just one for Liverpool and Spurs… but Lionel Messi is the favourite

  • The 30-man shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or has been leaked on Twitter 
  • The award – given to the best footballer – was cancelled last year due to Covid
  • No fewer than 14 players from England’s Premier League are nominated 
  • However, Lionel Messi remains the favourite to win the award a seventh time 

The Premier League dominates the 30-man shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or as no fewer than 14 stars from England’s top flight vie for football’s most prestigious prize, according to a leak.  

The award – given to the year’s best footballer – was cancelled last year owing to the coronavirus pandemic.

Paris Saint-Germain’s Lionel Messi won the men’s award in 2019, seeing off Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo to the prize, the sixth time he has won the Ballon d’Or. 

The 30-man shortlist for the Ballon d’Or is being unveiled. The award was canned in 2020

14 players from the Premier League make the shortlist, including 10 from Chelsea and City

Man United’s Cristiano Ronaldo (L) and Bruno Fernandes (R) have also been nominated

Premier League: Cesar Azpilicueta, Kevin de Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruben Dias, Bruno Fernandes, Phil Foden, Jorginho, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kanté, Romelu Lukaku, Riyad Mahrez, Mason Mount, Mohamed Salah, Raheem Sterling

Serie A: Nicolas Barella, Leonardo Bonucci, Giorgio Chiellini, Simon Kjaer, Lautaro Martinez

LaLiga: Karim Benzema, Luka Modric, Gerard Moreno, Pedri, Luis Suarez

Ligue 1: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Kylian Mbappé, Lionel Messi, Neymar

Bundesliga: Erling Haaland, Robert Lewandowski

France Football – who organise the event – are moments away from revealing their 30-man shortlist, although journalist Karim Djaziri has leaked the nominees on Twitter. 

Fourteen players from the Premier League have been nominated, according to the leak.  

They include: Cesar Azpilicueta, Kevin de Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Ruben Dias, Phil Foden, Bruno Fernandes, Jorginho, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kante, Romelu Lukaku, Riyad Mahrez, Mason Mount, Mohamed Salah and Raheem Sterling. 

Portuguese superstar Ronaldo won the first of his four Ballon d’Ors while at Old Trafford in 2009 and returned to United this summer in his bid to match Messi’s tally of six awards.  

Nicolas Barella, Leonardo Bonucci, Giorgio Chiellini, Simon Kjaer and Lautaro Martinez all represent Serie A on the list. 

Paris Saint-Germain enjoyed a strong summer transfer window and two of their newest recruits make the shortlist, including Messi, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Neymar and Kylian Mbappe.

Five players represent LaLiga in Karim Benzema, Luka Modric, Gerard Moreno, Pedri and Luis Suarez, while Robert Lewandowski and Erling Haaland are the only Bundesliga stars to feature. 

Despite the Premier League’s dominance on this year’s shortlist, Messi remains the bookmakers’ favourite to scoop the award on November 29. 

The Argentine scored 38 goals in 47 games last season, helping guide Barcelona to the Copa del Rey before winning the Copa America with his country this summer.

Mohamed Salah is the only player from Liverpool to feature on the 30-man shortlist this year

PSG trio Lionel Messi (L), Kylian Mbappe (C) and Neymar (R) have been nominated for the prize

Messi leads the way ahead of Bayern’s Lewandowski, who was harshly denied the award last year after it got cancelled. Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Jorginho is also in contention having won the Champions League and Euro 2020 this year.  

The 10-player shortlist for the Kopa Trophy – awarded to the best male player under the age of 21 – has also been unveiled, with three England stars featuring.

Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood and Borussia Dortmund’s Jude Bellingham have been named. 

Jérémy Doku, Pedri, Ryan Gravenberch, Florian Wirtz, Giovanni Reyna, Jamal Musiala, and Nuno Mendes make up the remaining seven places for the Kopa Trophy. 

Elsewhere, Megan Rapinoe – who won the women’s Ballon d’Or two years ago – missed out on the 20-woman shortlist for this year’s prize, while Lionesses Ellen White and Fran Kirby were nominated.  

Share this article

Source: Read Full Article