Steven Gerrard becomes first Liverpool icon inducted into Prem’s Hall of Fame

Don’t wait around for updates – sign up for our daily football email newsletter today!

Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard has become the latest inductee into the Premier League's Hall of Fame.

Gerrard becomes the first former Liverpool player to be named in the list and joins Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, Dennis Bergkamp, and Frank Lampard.

The current Rangers boss spent his entire Premier League playing career at Anfield and is regarded as one of the best midfielders to ever feature in the top flight.

He scored 120 goals in 504 Premier League games with the Reds finishing as runners-up in the 2013/14, 2008/09 and 2001/02 campaigns.

Only players that were retired by August 1 2020 are eligible to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Shearer and Henry became the first duo to be named before fans voted from a 23-man shortlist.

Gerrard also provided 92 Premier League assists and was named the competition's Player of the Month six times in his stellar career.

Henry had previously said: “It was a disgrace he didn’t win European Footballer of the Year after Istanbul in 2005 and, for me, he will be regarded as one of the greatest midfielders of all time.”

Who was in the 23-man shortlist for next six Hall of Fame inductees?

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, John Terry, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Viera, Ian Wright.

*Those in bold have been inducted.

READ MORE: Liverpool fans gobsmacked by Gini Wijnaldum recall after reaction to Alisson goal

READ MORE: Liverpool's biggest problem over potential Harry Kane transfer as rivals circle

  • Steven Gerrard
  • Liverpool FC
  • Premier League
  • Breaking News

Source: Read Full Article