Bundee Aki and Antoine Dupont among nominees for World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year

Ardie Savea is a strong contender for the award

All Blacks coach Ian Foster will compete with South Africa counterpart Jacques Nienaber, Ireland’s Andy Farrell and outgoing Fiji coach Simon Raiwalui for the Coach of the Year award.

South Africa fly half Manie Libbok and New Zealand wing Mark Tele’a, meanwhile, will contend for the Breakthrough Player award, with France’s Louis Bielle-Biarrey and Tele’a’s teammate Tamaiti Williams also nominated.

“All those nominated today deserve not only our congratulations but also our thanks for everything they have contributed, on and off the field, to inspire fans and players worldwide, driving rugby forward in 2023 in line with our sport’s values,” said Bill Beaumont, chairman of World Rugby.

“The strength of rugby is its players, coaches, officials and volunteers, and these shortlists provide a vivid snapshot of a sport that is thriving globally in its 200th year.”


World Rugby Coach of the Year

Andy Farrell (Ireland)

Ian Foster (New Zealand)

Simon Raiwalui (Fiji)

Jacques Nienaber (South Africa)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in partnership with Mastercard

Bundee Aki (Ireland)

Antoine Dupont (France)

Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)

Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor

Louis Bielle-Biarrey (France)

Manie Libbok (South Africa)

Mark Tele’a (New Zealand)

Tamaiti Williams (New Zealand)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)

Maddison Levi (Australia)

Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)

Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year

Leroy Carter (New Zealand)

Rodrigo Isgro (Argentina)

Marcos Moneta (Argentina)

Akuila Rokolisoa (New Zealand)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year

Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland, v England on 4 February)

Damian Penaud (France, v Ireland on 11 February)

Hugo Keenan (Ireland, France on 11 February)

Vinaya Habosi (Fiji, v Georgia on 1 October)

Other categories being awarded on Sunday 29 October

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service

International Rugby Players Special Merit Award

Rugby for All Award

World Rugby Referee Award

World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year in partnership with Capgemini

Categories awarded following the conclusion of WXV

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year

World Rugby Women’s 15s Dream Team of the Year in partnership with Capgemini

World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor

International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year

Source: Read Full Article